Photo by Chris Ried on Unsplash

In this post, we discuss ITIL. That is, we examine what it is and what its benefits are. Also, we discuss how professionals can achieve the various levels and earn the corresponding badges.

What Is ITIL?

There are multiple ways of handling any subject. However, sometimes these different ways can lead to misunderstandings and mistakes. For example, in the case of information technology (IT), it is important that all organizations deliver the same level of quality. Subsequently, the ITIL exam was created to address these concerns.

What Does ITIL Stand For?

ITIL is an acronym for Information Technology Infrastructure Library. It is a set of detailed practices for IT service management (ITSM). Accordingly, these practices align IT services with the needs of business.

Further, the Information Technology Infrastructure Library is a set of ITSM practices. Notably, many high-profile organizations rely on these practices. For instance, NASA, IBM, and others use them. Moreover, these practices standardize the procedures of good IT management. Consequently, they help businesses to achieve the best possible service.


The Three Kinds of Practices

Generally speaking, there are three different kinds of ITIL practices. These are:

General Management Practice

This group encompasses 14 ITSM practices. Additionally, each practice provides a reliable way of conducting IT service within an organization. For example, these practices include:

  • Architecture management
  • Portfolio management
  • Financial services management
  • Strategy management
  • Workforce and talent management
  • Continual improvement management
  • Risk management
  • Knowledge management
  • Information security management
  • Organizational change management
  • Project management
  • Relationship management
  • Supplies management
  • Measurement and reporting

Service Management Practice

As the name implies, service management practice consists of 17 management practices. Accordingly, these 17 practices monitor and control IT services. Notably, these 17 practices are:

  • Service catalog management
  • Business analysis
  • Service level management
  • Service design
  • Availability management
  • Service desk
  • Incident management
  • Service request management
  • Problem management
  • Monitoring and event management
  • Service continuity management
  • Capacity and performance management
  • Service configuration management
  • Release management
  • Change control
  • Service validation and testing
  • IT asset management

Technical Management Practice

Finally, technical management practices include:

  • Deployment management
  • Infrastructure and platform management
  • Software development and management

ITIL Certification

ITIL has been in use since the 1980’s. Since that time, it has become the standardized practice. That is, professionals everywhere rely on its practices in supporting, managing, and aligning IT service management with the needs of growing businesses.

Notably, ITIL is governed by AXELOS, which acts as an IT agent. As such, Axelos plots the customer journey in an effort to continuously improve service. As a result, ITIL certification has been widely adopted all around the world.

Professionals who work in this field must have a deep understanding of ITIL foundation. Therefore, many organizations around the world help their employees get certified in these practices. That’s because doing so will allow them to work more effectively toward a common goal.

Notably, these certifications fall into five levels:

Level 1: Foundation

Obviously, Foundation is a general entry-level certification. As such, it targets the basics. For example, it ensures that professionals are familiar with the basic concepts, elements, and terminology of this set of practices.

Level 2: ITIL Practitioner

Next, there is the Practitioner level. Notably, this certification was implemented in 2016. Practitioners at this level concentrate on adopting the ITIL framework in everyday situations and scenarios.

Level 3: ITIL Intermediate

The Intermediate level requires professionals to have an in-depth understanding of industry-wide IT roles.

Level 4: ITIL Expert

Professionals at the Expert level know and understand multiple ITIL practices.

Level 5 ITIL Master

Finally, the Master level requires detailed knowledge of ITIL practices, principles, and methods. Moreover, it includes advanced techniques, training and management processes to pass the ITIL certification exam.

How to Obtain Certifications

To become certified at any level of ITIL, contact Axelos. That’s because Axelos owns ITIL. As a result, it maintains, monitors, and controls the ITIL framework. Also, it accredits training and examinations all around the world.

However, there are many ITIL Accredited Training Organizations (ATOs) that deliver quality training and provide certification exams.

ITIL Badges

ITIL uses a credential system for each level through the expert level. Accordingly, each certification earns a professional a certain number of credits.

For example, you must earn a total of 22 credits in order to obtain certification as an expert. What’s more, professionals proudly display badges they have earned. For instance, the Foundation badge is pastel green. The Intermediate Capability badge is burgundy, and the Intermediate Lifecycle badge is teal. Meanwhile, the Expert badge is lilac, and the Master badge is purple and has the letter M in the middle.


Having all these pins or badges signifies that a professional has sound knowledge of ITIL. What’s more, a professional who has earned these badges is someone many organizations around the world are looking for.